Saturday, July 13, 2024

TRC trying new ‘community engagement’ model

Recent stories

Council has adopted a ‘Councillor Community Engagement Model’ put forward by Mayor Geoff McDonald.

The model will see three areas outside of Toowoomba City given three councillors each year on a rotating basis.

The region is split into three zones: Southern Zone South Greenmount, Nobby, East Greenmount, Clifton and Pittsworth including Millmerran and Cecil Plains; Emerging Zone Cambooya, Wyreema, Westbrook, Hodgson Vale, Kingsthorpe, Highfields; Northern Zone North

Goombungee, Crows Nest and Yarraman and West Oakey, Bowenville and Maclagan.

The Mayor said the model aims to address community sentiment on representation across the region.

“Developing a model that ensures everyone feels represented is always going to be challenging.”

“During the year each Councillor is allocated a zone it is expected that they will visit schools, attend various events and utilise space in Council’s service centres to hot desk and meet community members in their zone.

“This new model is aimed at reinvigorating community conversations which will lead to more inclusive decision making.”

The new model is set to begin on 1 September.

This article appeared in On Our Selection News, 27 June 2024.


Sign up for updates from Australian Rural & Regional News

Manage your subscription

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

For all the news from On Our Selection News, go to