Friday, January 27, 2023

Two new councillors elected to Gingin council

Recent stories

Retiring Shire of Gingin councillors Jacqui Lobb and James Morton have been replaced by Robert Kestel and Erik Sorensen.

Robert Kestel and Erik Sorensen were elected to the Shire of Gingin on Saturday, October 16. Photo: file

Sitting councillors Kim Rule and Frank Johnson were returned for another four-year term.

Western Australian Electoral Commission results show Cr Rule won 23.8per cent of the vote, Cr Johnson 19.9 per cent, Robert Kestel 19.6 per cent and Erik Sorensen 18.4 per cent.

Sheree O’Neil who missed out won 18.3 per cent of the vote.

Out of a total of 4309 Shire of Gingin electors 36.1 per cent took part in the council election.

On Tuesday, October 19 Cr Wayne Fewster was the only nomination for president.

Cr Rule and Cr Andrea Vis were nominated for deputy president with Cr Rule re-elected.

This article appeared on Yanchep News Online on 20 October 2021.



Sign up to the Australian Rural & Regional News weekly newsletter

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.